the Music

If It Don't Fit, Don't Force It

Coming soon!  Projected release date in late June/early July 2015.


  • 1. Walk The Dog clip
  • 2. Everybody Does It Now clip
  • 3. Why Don't You Do Right? clip
  • 4. If It Don't Fit Don't Force It clip
  • 5. All Of Me clip
  • 6. I'll Fly Away clip
  • 7. Jug Band Blues clip
  • 8. I Want To Be Bad clip
  • 9. Ukulele Lady clip
  • 10. Bill Bailey clip
  • 11. Summertime clip
  • 12. New Rubbin' On That Darned Old Thing clip
  • 13. If You Want Me To Love You clip
  • 14. Five Foot Two clip
  • 15. Wayward Gal Blues clip
  • 16. Let's Get Drunk Again clip

Everybody Does It Now

Recording on Columbia Records alongside the better known Bessie Smith, little is known about Martha Copeland outside of her recording career.  She started with OKeh in 1923 and appeared in the vaudeville review Shuffle Along.  Vera heard Abigail Washburn do a version of this song and fell in love with it; this is in fact one of the earliest numbers in the Side Street Steppers repertoire.  It is also one of two Martha Copeland songs that we do—you can find I Ain’t Your Hen, Mr. Fly Rooster on our debut album, Memphis Stomp.